[ dga‘ ‚khyil ] · Wheel of Joy

The Gankyil can be translated as “Wheel of Joy” (ānanda-cakra) and is an important symbol in East Asian and Tibetan Buddhism and also very common in Himalayan Shamanism . Sometimes the Gankyil is described as a triple Yin and Yang, because its similar construction. Often, the Gynkyil is used as the inner wheel (hub) of the Dharmachakras.

The three parts of the Gankyil are associated with a variety of groups of three. Commonly they represent the Three Jewels of Buddhism: Buddha, Dharma and Sangha and can be understood as “basis, method and product”; “emptiness, clarity and force” or “study, reflection and meditation”. The three parts are traditionally represented in yellow, red and dark blue (sometimes black).

In Taoism the symbol represents the three treasures (compassion, frugality and humility).


> Usage of the symbol

The dynamic interaction between the three parts represents at the same time one indivisible unit – similar to the Christian Trinity (father, son and Holy Spirit) or the Hindu Trinity, which consists of Brahma (creator), Vishnu (the preserver) and Shiva (the destroyer). In addition to the traditional, Buddhist meaning, the symbol generally embodies a joyful and harmonious becoming whole: mentally, physically and spiritually – whole in a holistic nature. 

In this sense, the symbol can be placed in any area of your life to support the “becoming whole”. I recommend to put it in the middle of your House (Bagua n° 5), the health section (Bagua n° 3) or near a House altar.

For more information about symbols based on circles please refer to the following article:


Available as:

Royalty-free Vector Illustration
Wall Art, Fashion, Home Decor, Tech Cases, Stationery and much more
> Redbubble
Art Print, Canvas Print and Poster


© 2018  ·  All rights reserved by Thoth Adan / Bildrecht  ·  Do not use, publish or copy without permission