八卦 · [ bāguà ] · Eight Trigrams

The bagua diagram is the most important instrument practising feng shui. With this tool you can understand and influence the flow of the energy (qi). It is kind of a compass based on the Taoist cosmology and the Lo Shu Square, a magic square. Basically the square is divided in 9 smaller squares. The bagua is used in many feng shui traditions, also in the teaching of symbolic feng shui. With this tool one can divide a house, a room, or even the surface of a desk into nine squares; The so-called bagua zones. The word bagua literally means “eight symbols” and refers to the eight trigrams, the basic modules of the I Ching. One trigram is assigned to each of the eight surrounding squares (bagua zone) – the central, ninth field is usually related to the yin and yang symbol. Each bagua zone represents a certain energy, theme, color, shape, direction, season, and many other qualities.

Depending on feng shui tradition, the baguas are eather alined to the directions of the compass or the position of the front door/entrance. On Chinese plans and maps the starting point (North or entrance hall) is on the bottom of the page, not at the top! From this point, all the baguas line up. Not every house or room has an optimal, rectangular ground plan. Using suitable symbols can harmonise and strengthen baguas, missing corners or energetically unbalanced areas. Likewise the proper symbols can activate and empower certain areas of life; e.g. love and relationships.


> Usage of the symbol

The bagua is a tool and symbol in one. Often the diagram is used in combination with a mirror, the so called bagua mirror. This feng shui instrument can fend and reject bad energy (sha chi). It is a very powerful tool and should be applied with caution. Never ever use it in the inside of a house! 

To the contrary: The symbol (without mirror) stands for unity, oneness and harmony. It brings together all the different elements and energies and balances them. The best place for this strong symbol is the center of the house, the bagua n° 5.

For more specific information look the individual baguas:
The eight trigrams are:
> Kan · The Abysmal and the Mysteriousness
> Kun · The Receptive and the Devoted
> Zhen (Dschen) · The Arousing and the Impulsiveness
> Xun (Sun) · The Gentle and the Moving
> Qian (Kien) · The Creative and the Renewing
> Dui · The Joyous and the Communicative
> Gen · The Keeping Still
> Li · The Clinging and the Clarifying


Available as:

Royalty-free Vector Illustration
Wall Art, Fashion, Home Decor, Tech Cases, Stationery and much more
Art Print, Canvas Print and Poster


© 2018  ·  All rights reserved by Thoth Adan / Bildrecht  ·  Do not use, publish or copy without permission